Skip to content

Research

April 11, 2010

Waituna wetlands

Soon I have to do a powerpoint presentation for this course about my research (well it can be about anything but it makes sense to tie in what I’m doing here). So I need to start formulating some research questions and start honing in on the topic, compiling some info, do some interviews etc. Some ideas:

What journey has the water coming down my taps made?  – what processes has it been through to reach a drinkable state?

Where does it end up when it flows down my pipes, in particular from the toilet bowl?

Find out who the experts are who deal with this water  -maybe science experts, water management, infrastructure officials.

How does the quality of this water, prior to reaching me and after it leaves my house, compare with other parts of New Zealand?

What are our assumptions and views about water and how do these differ, across time and culture? Ie farmers, Maori, government.

How can the internet, blogging and open research contribute to answering these questions?

Hhmmmm, perhaps this is too broad. Would like to take it from the personal, as in a close-up look, and then broaden out to the political/economical implications. Your ideas and comments welcomed.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 10:31 pm

    This sound as too many options to do all of them. I think you should choose just one. More important than how difficult could it be, wich of this questions interest you the most?

    PS: this is a really versatile blog, many topics can be treated here. This is cool.

    • April 12, 2010 7:31 am

      Thanks for your comments. Yes, good point, I do need to work on a couple of the questions which interest me most. Stay tuned.

  2. April 12, 2010 7:01 am

    Hi there,
    Sounds like an awesome topic!!! Someone needs to speak up for our degrading water ways. Many lakes in the North Island are already (and have been for some time now) showing the signs of nutrient runoff. Lakes I would swim in as a youngster are often now closed in summer because of toxic algae blooms.
    Maybe you could use your house as a starting point. Where do you get your water from and where does it go once it has left your house. From the Local you could go National and then International. Just thoughts. Good luck and I look forward to reading more about why Water Matters.
    thevoiceofsue

    • April 12, 2010 7:33 am

      Thanks for your good ideas. I like that idea of starting with myself and looking increasingly outwards. Have just been reading in the Listener about water conflict, which is another whole spin-off.

  3. Catherine permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:42 am

    I agree with the voiceofsue – start with your house and where the water comes from and goes. You should try and track it – take some photos of where it comes out. I don’t think you should look outwards – that will just be obvious from your little story. Definitely keep it personal, forget broad (people can’t relate to it). Anyway that’s my 10 cents worth!
    How much do you pay for water in NZ?

    • April 28, 2010 8:33 am

      Cheers, meaning to do an update blog on my research ideas. I still think the bigger picture politically and how it is managed is important though, as I don’t think people (myself included) are aware of how it works. But making that interesting to read is key.
      We don’t pay for water here apart from a set amount included in rates (will have to check on that).

Leave a Reply

