Skip to content

Putting water plans into action

May 16, 2010

Invercargill water tower thanks to PhillipC on Flickr (although my visit on wednesday will not be to the water tower, I will discuss it later)

This Wednesday I’m off to visit the water treatment plant at Invercargill to get a handle on the process my water goes through before it reaches me.

I am not following a logical path in the journey of researching my water. I think the most logical path would be to travel from the Oreti river’s source and then travel downwards, ending at the sea. But that is not practical for me to do at this stage (because of time restrictions and kids).

So I’m going to start looking at how my water is treated first and then I’ll look at the waste water process it goes through when it goes down the drain. I’m essentially focusing on water around my house to begin with, and I’ll see if I can work out how much water our household uses (or average rates). I’m also going to see if I can track down some maps so ideally I could walk or bike the route above the pipes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 1:48 am

    Maybe you could make a video about this interesting trip šŸ™‚

    • May 19, 2010 2:44 am

      I made an audio sound recording and once I get more confident with the technology I’ll do a videocast.

Leave a Reply

