Skip to content

The fascinating world of a water treatment station

May 19, 2010

I’ve just returned from a fascinating tour of the Branxholme Water Treatment Station on the banks of the Oreti River near Makarewa, which supplies drinking water to Invercargill and Bluff.

Before I went I really had no idea what is done to water to make it usable.

Now I have a whole new appreciation of what goes from dirty river water (from the Oreti River) to the A-grade quality juice (recently tested) that comes out my taps at the other end.

I will spend the next few blogs explaining the process and what I learned from the amiable water treatment plant manager Martin Brough.

By next week I aim to upload a podcast of the visit, although I’m not sure about the quality at this stage as there was lots of background noise of machinery and swishing water.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

