Skip to content

Explanation of water drawing

June 20, 2010
tags:

Sometimes drawing can help give a different view on things than writing things down. I don’t draw nearly enough to make it worthwhile but even the small drawing and writing ideas by hand in the previous post makes it fresher. A design student in my class is doing his blog about drawing as a communication/explorative/design skill and I found his presentation quite inspiring.

Back to the ideas: My research requires lots of visits and interviews so the drawing is ideally what I’d like to cover but realistically I might not  get round to all of them. My visit to the waste water treatment plant won’t be till next month but before then I’d like to post some maps and find out about water quality/flow and about water conservation orders, which the Oreti River has on it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 12:22 am

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=114518911900535&ref=mf
    this group is the contact point for a woman in Auckland putting together an art project about connecting people with their local freshwater ecosystems. you might be interested?
    Also my latest assignment might be relevant 🙂

    • June 21, 2010 9:36 pm

      Hey thanks for that. I like your video piece and am interested in Amelia’s art project.

  2. June 22, 2010 1:33 am

    Jacob’s River Estuary at Riverton has had a lot of attention drawn to it through the placement of two sculptures in recent days (images here:)

    http://robertguyton.blogspot.com/2010/06/then-there-were-two.html

    We have an Estuary Festival and Mudman race that serves a similar purpose.

    • June 22, 2010 1:39 am

      Thanks. Hey, can I use that photo on a post? (it will talk about your post) I couldn’t see if you have a creative commons licence or not.

      • June 22, 2010 2:41 am

        You are very welcome to do use the image.
        There will be more to come on this art-meets-water issue.
        Not only do I not have a Creative Commons lisence, I don’t even know what one is!
        Rob

      • June 22, 2010 10:25 pm

        Thanks. A creative commons license is something you can put on your blog (on the right hand side of mine you’ll see a little image). You automatically get copywrite on your writing and images unless you say otherwise. A creative commons license means you can share it and let others use it without them asking. There are different levels of that, for example you might let someone use it if they attribute your image to you, or you might let others use it as long as it is not for commercial reuse. Take a look at http://creativecommons.org

      • June 23, 2010 12:31 am

        Aha!
        I’m a CopyLeft kinda guy. That’s why I dubbed our apple project ‘Open Orchard’.

  3. June 22, 2010 2:43 am

    And I don’t know why this carrot keeps following me around. I have a different avatar!

Leave a Reply

