Skip to content

Stepping into adventure blogs

August 1, 2010

ski touring, back of Remarkables, July

Hi, welcome to the new theme of my blog: Stepping Out (still working on the name). I’m going to be blogging about what it means to adventure and take risks in outdoor pursuits today. I plan to push myself in new experiences while meeting those who excel in extreme activities. I hope to talk to psychologists and experts for insights into risk-taking, skills building and optimal flow experiences. And I want to look at changes that have taken place in pursuits including climbing, surfing, diving, hunting and kayaking.

Why? I’m passionate about the outdoors and and enjoy surfing, rock-climbing, ski-touring and tramping. Though I have to face it: my outdoor activities have diminished since my kids came in to the picture. Not that I hold that against them. I still think about doing these things, although my views on risk have probably changed, and I have more time constraints these days.

I’m also interested in how pursuits have changed so much in the past 30 years – 50ft waves are now being surfed with tow-ins from jet skis and featureless rock faces, once thought impossible, have been climbed. Not only has technology changed activities beyond recognition but each generation pushes new psychological boundaries.

I don’t claim to be an expert at any of the activities I do or will research, but I’ve realised outdoor adventuring makes up an important part of who I am and contributes to my wellbeing when I do get out and push myself.

And for those of you who may have read some of my previous blogs about water issues, you’ll still see the odd one in here and there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

