Skip to content

A long summer with no blogging

February 15, 2011

Me at Luncheon Rock on the Stump the Hump Challenge, about 6.30am

Oh boy, it’s been ages since I’ve been blogging. I’ve been enjoying a relaxing summer hanging out  with the family. The pace is speeding up again though as I get back into study, part-time work and running.

Near the end of January me and a friend did a new event – the Stump the Hump Challenge, doing the 3-day Humpridge Track all at once starting at midnight. We had a great time despite the tiredness at the end. I wrote a feature about the experience for the Southland Times.

Walking in the dark all night with just a small headlight for guidance was quite a surreal experience. For more about the event and the track check out http://www.humpridgetrack.co.nz/

Gemma and I at the finish of Stump the Hump, after 14hrs 32minutes

In the afterglow of success, I signed up to do the Routeburn Classic, a 32km mountain run over one of NZ’s most scenic walks.

Hmmmm, might have been a bit rash as I’m finding the training hard-going already.

No doubt you’ll read about my training efforts in coming posts. One of Invercargill’s downfalls is its flatness; you have to drive out of town to find hills. So for some hill training I have to go to either Bluff Hill or Forest Hill (towards Winton). However,  they are both beautiful areas so it makes up for the drive.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Catherine permalink
    February 23, 2011 10:44 am

    Gees, can you sit down and have a cup of tea. You are making the rest of us look bad! Well me anyway!

  2. February 28, 2011 9:39 pm

    I’ll sign you up for Stump the Hump next year if you’re not careful!

Leave a Reply

