Skip to content

I survived the Three Peaks race

April 19, 2011

Yes, I survived the 26km Three Peaks race in Dunedin on the weekend. It was a humbling experience and one that I feel relatively broken from, although that may be the sore muscles and aching in my body still talking. It was the hardest run I’ve ever done and I have a load of admiration for the fast runners -and everyone – who complete it in under two and a half hours. I don’t recommend doing it with a cold and perhaps should have listened to my instincts to take it easy, preferably staying in bed.

You need all the energy you can summon given the cold, the muddy wet terrain and the steep hills that go on and on and on. Running on hills in the Invercargill area is not suitable training I found out. Anyway, I did it and while I was disappointed at the amount of walking I did on the up parts, I still feel satisfied at my accomplishment. Would I do it again? At this stage, no way, though ask me in March next year and I might look at it differently.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

