Skip to content

Cragging at Castledowns

May 31, 2011

Castledown, near Dipton in Southland, doesn’t get climbed very much. As we realised when we went there on the weekend and forgot a brush to scrub the lichen off some of the holds. It’s a great place though -climbers first began visiting in the 70s and it was bolted in the 90s. It’s a shame more people don’t go there.

Ravensdown agreed not to mine the large cliffs further down from the main cragging area after a bunch of people rallied around to save it. It doesn’t have any climbs on it I think because no access is allowed. It’s a victory they are not going to destroy the outcrop though kind of appalling they even considered it in the first place given what a prominent unique feature it is in the area.

First time we’ve been rock-climbing in several years and first trip with our children aged 2 and 4. It seemed to go okay though -surprisingly. It was an adventure for them crossing the creek and hiking through long grass up a short hill to the base of the climbs. They played on the boulder mat while my partner and I got in three climbs each.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    June 2, 2011 8:56 am

    I am thinking of applying for the MSciComm program in 2012, so I’ve subscribed to your blog in the hopes I’ll get some idea of what it might be like. So far it looks very interesting. Keep posting!

    • June 2, 2011 9:14 am

      Hey, thanks Susan. I’m a pretty infrequent blogger these days, given I feel like my time should be better spent on plodding on with the thesis writing! I haven’t got much of the science in there either – my area for my thesis and book is more sociology/psychology of outdoor adventuring.
      Are you interested in the film-making or writing or the popularizing science part of the course? If you want to know more about the course you can email me. Happy to have a chat.
      cheers,
      Juliet

Leave a Reply

