Skip to content

Mountainbiking misadventure (or accident) puts me out of action

June 20, 2011

Well I’m not going to be doing much of anything any time soon. A compression fracture in your upper spine tends to do that. Can just walk, very slowly, though no driving, no bending, no lifting my arms or picking up anything heavy – let along toddlers. Me and mountainbikes don’t tend to agree, though I really didn’t see this one coming.

I was taking part in the 8-hour bike race at Sandy Point in a team of four. You take turns doing 12km laps along a single track through forest. Not that hard or technical and it is a fun social event. Though trust me, I managed to flip off my bike at the one  jump part. Landed on my face and got a mouthful of sand, totally knocking the breath out of me. Managed to get back up and on the bike and, god knows how, completed the lap, although I had no power in the up-hill parts and had to push.

Collapsed at the end and taken to the ambulance – luckily on hand for these events – I’m strapped into a back cage device with a collar around my  neck and head taped down (a precautionary measure) feeling like a Mummy about to be preserved. A couple of x-rays later and the doctor, from Colorado, tells me I’ve done this wedge compression thing to my thorax T4 vertabrae. He says he’s seen my ‘type’ before who will just want to get back into some activity as soon as possible. Whatever.

I’m going back in a couple of days to the fracture clinic so will find out more. All I know is the pain is up there with childbirth and that I can forget about going surfing or doing much of anything, any time soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    June 21, 2011 9:10 am

    Juliet, you poor thing! It does sound very dramatic though. I don’t know a single regular mountain biker who hasn’t broken something significant, if that makes you feel any better. Looking forward to seeing you all soon. Karen

    • June 21, 2011 9:11 pm

      Thanks Karen. Yeah, guess that will teach me for not being a regular-enough biker. Look forward to seeing you soon – hoping I’ll be over the pain by then even if I won’t be up to carrying any bags!

Leave a Reply

