Skip to content

Camping at Monkey Island

September 22, 2011

Harrison at Monkey Island

It’s been ages since I’ve written a blog. I’ve been working on my book/thesis instead and feel like I’m making decent progress at last. That’s just as well as I’ve only got a few months left on it.

Here’s a shot from a camping trip to Monkey Island a few weekends ago. This is near Orepuki, past Riverton and about 25minute from Tuatapere. It’s a great place. Really remote, a beautiful beach and good camping spots. But it’s cold, almost all the time, from what I can gather.

Walking along the beach, I couldn’t believe all the plastic I could see being washed up in the tideline. My photo is just from collecting pieces (thinking of making a necklace, magpie that I am) along a short stretch of beach.

plastic pieces I picked up

How crazy is that, and I didn’t even touch any of the tiny plastic fragments. Kind of depressing to think how we are stuffing up our water from all different directions.

We were only there one night in the end. The next morning it started raining at 8am and kept going. The weather forecast didn’t look like it was going to get any better so we packed up at 2pm and were home by 3pm.

One Comment leave one →
  1. aspo permalink
    September 22, 2011 9:12 am

    That is crazy the amount of plastic you found done there – not good. Look forward to seeing your funky necklace you make from it

Leave a Reply

